Reading List 2023

  1. TJ Klune - The Damning Stone (Verania 5)
  2. Markus Almond - These Are The Days
  3. Thomas Brezina - Sisis Ball der Mörder
  4. J.R.R. Tolkien - The Children of Hurin
  5. TJ Klune - Ravensong
  6. David R. Slayton - White Trash Warlock
  7. David R. Slayton - Trailer Park Trickster
  8. J.R.R. Tolkien - The Adventures of Tom Bombadil
  9. David R. Slayton - Deadbeat Druid
  10. TJ Klune - Heartsong
  11. Nancy Sherman - Stoische Weisheit. Alte Lektionen für moderne Resilienz (Stoic Wisdom: Ancient Lessons for Modern Resilience)
  12. James Baldwin - Giovanni‘s Room
  13. TJ Klune - Murmuration
  14. Gudjón Ragnar Jónasson - Little Gay Reykjavík. Queer History and Anecdotes
  15. Adam Silvera - The First to Die at the End
  16. Toshikazu Kawaguchi - Tales From the Cafe: Before the Coffee gets Cold
  17. TJ Klune - Brothersong
  18. Timothy Hickson - On Writing and Worldbuilding: Volume I
  19. Rainbow Rowell - Carry On: The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow
  20. Rick Rubin - The Creative Act
  21. Mark Haddon - The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
  22. E. Lockhart - We Were Liars
  23. TJ Klune - In the Lives of Puppets
  24. Hannah Kaner - Godkiller
  25. TJ Klune - Into This River I Drown
  26. Timothy Hickson - On Writing and Worldbuilding: Volume II
  27. Travis Baldree - Legends & Lattes
  28. Steven Pressfield - The War of Art
  29. Diana Wynne Jones - Howl‘s Moving Castle
  30. Hanya Yanagihara - A Little Life
  31. Alix E. Harrow - -The Six Deaths of the Saint_
  32. Diana Wynne Jones - Castle in the Air
  33. Diana Wynne Jones - House of many Ways
  34. Freya Marske - A Marvellous Light (Last Binding 1)
  35. TJ Klune - Bear, Otter and the Kid
  36. Patrick Rothfuss - The Narrow Road between Desires
  37. A.P. Beswick - A Forest of Vanity and Valour (The Levanthria Series 1)
  38. Travis Baldree - Bookshops & Bonedust
  39. Veronica G. Henry - The Candles are Burning
  40. Tiago Forte - The PARA Method
  41. Nghi Vo - What the Dead Know
  42. Susan Cooper - The Dark is Rising
  43. Agatha Christie - Hallowe‘en Party
  44. Lev Grossman - Persephone
  45. Jack London - The Call of the Wild
  46. Austin Kleon - Steal like an Artist: 10 Things nobody told you about being creative
  47. Austin Kleon - Show Your Work
  48. Dan Tricarico - The Zen Teacher: Creating Focus, Simplicity, and Tranquility in the Classroom
  49. Austin Kleon - Keep Going: 10 Ways to stay creative in good times and bad
  50. Albert Camus - The Stranger

Again, I strived for reading 52 books in 2023. Looking at the list above, I obviously did not achieve this goal (with fifty books being pretty close, though), but honestly - who cares? I could make up a bunch of excuses for being two books short: Moving to a new flat cut my daily commute by about 40 minutes (which I usually spent reading), advanced education in teaching Digital Literacy regularly burns up a lot of time in order to write essays, learning patterns, and additional lesson plans, or life in general.

I have to admit, I TRIED reaching my goal and I COULD have managed to read two more books, but rushing through about ten of them in the last week of 2023 took the fun out of reading. Dan Tricarico’s Zen Teacher helped me understand this even further and made me halt in my pursuit of literary bragging rights (which does not mean that I won’t try again in 2024).

But let’s move on from me NOT explaining why I didn’t reach my reading goal for 2023 and briefly talk about readings that stuck with me. This year I continued binging TJ Klune’s work (my favourite being Murmuration as it made me cry several times) with still a lot to go this year. Austin Kleon’s writing on creativity stood out for me as well and I’m looking forward to further books. One novel that broke me and regularly forced me to put it down and take a breather was Hanya Yanagihara’s A Little Life. I can’t say that I’ve read anything in a long time that messed me up like this beautifully written piece of literature.

All in all, I still perceived 2023 as a successful reading year with the majority of the books being great and fantastic reads. Let’s see what 2024 is going to provide in a literary sense - my to read list is already waiting to be tackled.

Cervus @forestweekender